

Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission

Friday, July 28, 2023 10:00 AM Remote via Zoom

Meeting Minutes

Members Present

Rep. Newton

Sen. Kunesh

Rep. Clardy

Rep. Bakeberg

Rep. Berg

Sen. Duckworth

Sen. Eichorn

Sen. Farnsworth

Rep. Heintzeman

Sen. Hoffman

Rep. Igo

Members Excused

Sen. Hauschild

Sen. Hoffman called the meeting of the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission to order at 10:01 AM. A quorum was present.

Members introduced themselves.

Approval of Minutes

Rep. Spencer Igo moved approval of the February 28, 2022, meeting minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Sen. Hoffman discussed the purpose of meeting and the school trust lands acres.

Election of Chair

Sen. Duckworth nominated Rep. Newton for the position of Chair.

Rep. Berg nominated Sen. Kunesh for the position of Chair.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Representative Newton received 8 votes.

Senator Kunesh received 3 votes.

Rep. Newton nominated Sen. Kunesh as vice chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Newton is the new Chair and Senator Kunesh is the new Vice Chair.

Presentation of School Trust 101

Aaron Vande-Linde, Director, provided a presentation of school trust 101, discussing the role of the school trust offices.

Income on School Trust Lands Overview

Patty Thielen, DNR Forestry Director, introduced herself along with her Deputy Director, Andrew Arends, and provided an overview of revenues, expenses, and net deposits on school trust lands for fiscal year 2022.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:10 AM.